McIntyre Team Race Champs - SUNY

Wed, July 8, 2020

SUNY Maritime College

To register for the team race using Clubspot, please register your six-person team as if it is three boats, each with two crew members. Also register the team's coach for free. Use the link above to access the event page on Clubspot.

Coaches: Brian Clancy, head coach at Cornell; Ben Mohney, Assistant Coach at Hobart; and Greiner Hobbs, finalist for ICSA Sailor of the Year. Both Clancy and Hobbs were members of Team Boss, the winners of the 2018 US Sailing Team Racing Championship for the Hinman Trophy.

Format: This is a Clinegatta, which is both a clinic and a regatta in one event. The format will include on-the-water drills, land-based sessions covering team racing tactics, team racing rules and a review of the regatta format. The times of the clinic portions of the regatta will be given at the discretion of Brian Clancy and may be mixed in before, between, or after the races.

Teams: A team consists of 3 boats. Each club whose entry is accepted must send one team with a 6 sailors, no more no less, plus one coach / instructor. Two or more clubs may combine to form one team and combined teams are encouraged. A maximum of 12 teams will be accepted. If more than 12 entries are received, the 12 teams will be chosen based on the order their complete entries and payments are received. If places remain available at July 4th, multiple teams from a club may be accepted.

Designated team members that begin the regatta must show up each day of regatta and complete the regatta. There must be a commitment by each of the 6 team members to attend all three days. The no substitute policy is due to capacity limitations at SUNY Maritime during their summer camp and meeting rooms, day-to-day safety instructions, and familiarity with the facility and equipment.

Boats: The event will be sailed in C420 and CFJ boats supplied by SUNY Maritime. Sailors should be familar with sailing double handed boats without spinnakers or trapezes, as used for high school and college team sailing.

Prizes will be awarded to the first three teams in gold fleet and first two teams in silver fleet.

- Resources -